DIY Lawn Tonic via Tim Heffron (as seen on the news)

Did anyone else see the headliner a few years ago about a guy in Colorado who used a crazy DIY lawn tonic to get amazingly green grass in drought stricken Colorado? ME TOO! Only I didn’t have a lawn at the time I was in desperate need of sprucing up so unfortunately I didn’t write down the recipe. Now however, on the verge of getting the keys to a new home, as well as helping my mom spruce things up before she sells her home I see two lawns in need of some help. I Googled make your lawn green and DIY miracle grow a while back without luck, but that didn’t stop me. I knew as the heat of the summer approached and more of my fellow dry state individuals (Utah, Colorado, Arizona, Wyoming, Vegas, etc, etc) began to see their lovely spring lawns fade my search results would begin to yield better results. Sure enough this time when I typed in DIY Miracle grow for lawns the original story I was in search of popped right up.

http://www.9news.com/news/story.aspx?storyid=27683&catid=222

http://www.wisebread.com/secret-lawn-tonic-recipe-from-golf-course-groundskeeper

http://www.bargaineering.com/articles/green-lawn-care-tips-and-secret-lawn-tonic-recipe-golf-course-groundskeeper.html

There before me a plethora of sites talking about the lawn tonic from news stations to every day bloggers. However, one thing I didn’t immediately see was pictures of lawns that had used the tonic. I am in need of an all out grass roots revival (literally grass roots lol) so I don’t just want to read a recipe….I want to see before and after pictures so I know what to expect. Alas, at this point I haven’t had any luck. So, I’ve decided that despite my reservations about application without photo evidence I am going to give this a try because honestly these lawns can’t get much worse…and if they do I can always kill everything and then re-sod.

I am going to add before and after photos for comparison and honest review of this lawn tonic. To start….here is the recipe.

Tim Heffron’s lawn tonic recipe

  • 1 can of regular beer (no light beer)
  • 1 can of regular soda (any kind except diet soda)
  • 1/2 cup of general liquid soap (any kind accept NO anti-bacterial)
  • 1/2 cup of liquid ammonia
  • 1/2 cup of mouthwash (any brand)
  • Pour into 10-gallon hose-end sprayer (other sizes will work too)

Dry Lawn 6-30-13

Before photo of a portion of lawn at my mothers house. 30 June 2013 (I’m sure she’s going to love having this one posted on the world wide web. Sorry mom 🙂

DIY lawn 7-18-2013

After photo 17 July 2013. This is after only one application and a few days of rain. There is a dramatic difference! I intend on going over the yard again and then waiting another few weeks to see the results. According to Tim Heffron you should only use this every few weeks (3 weeks seems to be the sweet spot), otherwise it can burn your lawn instead of helping it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Budget, DIY, Home and Lawn

Leave a Reply

